Cricket Forum banner

lara,inzamam confirmed for the rebel cricket league

898 Views 0 Replies 1 Participant Last post by  Rising
Former Test captains Brian Lara and Inzamam-ul Haq were on Wednesday confirmed to play in India's rebel Twenty20 league following a goof-up over players' lists.

The names of Lara and Inzamam, touted as star attractions of the Indian Cricket League (ICL), were missing when the six teams for the inaugural event were announced earlier in the day.

But ICL officials later clarified that both players will take part in the league to be played in Panchkula, an industrial town on the outskirts of the northern Indian city of Chandigarh, from November 30.

"There was some mistake with the original list but I can confirm that both Lara and Inzamam will play for us," ICL spokesman Abhishek Agrawal told AFP.

Four other names added to the original list were Stuart Law of Australia, Craig McMillan and Chris Cairns of New Zealand and Marvan Atapattu of Sri Lanka, Agrawal said.

The ICL, bankrolled by the country's largest media group, Zee Telefilms, has unveiled 30 international players divided equally among six teams.

South Africa, Pakistan and New Zealand head the list with six players each, followed by England (four), Sri Lanka (three), Ireland and Australia (two each) the West Indies (one).

Nicky Boje, Lance Klusener, Dale Birkenstein, Johan van der Wath, Nantie Hayward and Andrew Hall are the six South Africans in the fray.

The Pakistanis are Inzamam, Shabbir Ahmed, Abdul Razzaq, Azhar Mahmood, Taufeeq Umar and Imran Farhat.

Wicket-keepers Chris Read and Paul Nixon join fellow Englishmen Darren Maddy and Vikram Solanki, while Chris Harris, Nathan Astle, Hamish Marshall, Daryl Tuffey, Cairns and McMillan will fly in from New Zealand.

The three Sri Lankans in the list are Russel Arnold, Upul Chandana and Atapattu. Niall O'Brien and Boyd Rankin provide the Irish representation.

Ian Harvey and Law are the two Australians in the fray, while Lara is the sole West Indian.

The six teams have been named Chennai Superstars, Hyderabad Heroes, Kolkata Tigers, Delhi Jets, Chandigarh Lions and Mumbai Champs. The other team members are local players drawn from across the country.

The Indian cricket board, which plans to hold its own official Twenty20 league in April, has not recognised the rebel league.
See less See more
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.