Cricket Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

492 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Mumbai to host IPL awards night
The best players and performances in the IPL will be honoured at the inaugural IPL awards show.
By R Prasad
The best players and performances will be honoured at the inaugural IPL Awards at the Grand Hyatt in Mumbai on Friday, 23 April.
There would be a total of 22 awards in different categories.
The IPL Chairman Lalit Modi clarified that only performances till the league stage of the IPL, set to conclude on April 19, would be recognised for the awards.
From honouring a player in the department of batting, bowling, fielding, to the most stylish player, best stadium and commentator, the awards will become a highlight of the IPL.
Innovative categories have also been included with the most fan-friendly cricketer to be named, and a special award given where each of the IPL team captains will vote on which retired Indian cricket legend they would have loved to have in their squad.
The awards have been divided into viewers' and critics' choice categories, giving experts and armchair experts alike the chance to decide on who will walk away with the coveted statuettes.
The critics' choice awards will be adjudged by the IPL Awards Jury, comprising Lalit Modi, cricket legends Sunil Gavaskar, Brian Lara and Javagal Srinath, the world's leading umpire, Simon Taufel, and respected cricket commentator Harsha Bhogle.
The IPL Jury Awards: Best Ground, Best IPL Debutant, Best Stadium Experience, Most Consistent Performer, Most Dramatic Performance, Best Fielder, Best Bowler and Best Batsman.
Meanwhile, Modi also informed that the 2011 IPL season would start immediately after the conclusion of the Cricket World Cup and run through April and May.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.