Cricket Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
PSL 2021 Points Table


The Pakistan Super League (PSL) has assembled all of the teams in Karachi for the sixth season, which promises to be an interesting one. Every team will be attempting to climb the PSL points table in order to qualify for the play-offs and, eventually, the renowned tournament's final.

The four teams with the most points at the end of the group stage go to the playoffs, while the bottom two teams are eliminated.

Throughout the tournament's history, the Peshawar Zalmi has consistently been the top team in the group stages. They have won the PSL Points Table three times, which is more than any other team in the competition. They have gone onto play three finals, winning one of them.

Islamabad United, the most successful team in the competition's history, has won the title twice after finishing first in the PSL Points Table. The PSL 2019 finalists were not so fortunate, as they were eliminated in the play-offs in 2020.

Due to the COVID-19 guidelines, the event is being held in two locations this year. The first part of the competition will take place at National Stadium Karachi, with the second phase, which includes the play-offs and final, taking place in Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

The action kicks off on February 20th, with the defending champions, Karachi Kings, taking on the former champions, Quetta Gladiators, in the PSL 6 opener.

Pakistan Super League Points Criteria

The PSL is a double round-robin tournament. In the group stage, each team will face each other twice, with the top four teams qualifying for the play-offs. The tournament's rules and regulations are in line with those of the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The points system used in the PSL Points Table is identical to that used in any ICC-approved franchise T20 competition. A win is worth two points, a tie is worth one, and a loss is worth zero. If the match ends in a draw after twenty overs, a super over will be used to determine the winner.

In a super over, both sides will bat for one over, with the team scoring the most runs in that over being declared the winner and receiving two points.

The following factors will be used to determine the teams' ranking in the group stages:

At the end of the group stage, the team with the most points will take first place.
If both teams have the same number of points, the team with the higher net run rate will win.
The team with the most wins in the group stage will finish higher if the points and net run rate are equal.
If all of the above conditions are equal, the team with the fewest losses will finish higher in the standings.
If all the criteria remain equal, then the result of the head-to-head between the two teams will determine the league position.

The top-placed team will compete in the qualifier against the second-placed team, while the third-placed team will compete in the first eliminator against the fourth-placed team. The qualifier winner advances directly to the final, while the qualifier loser will face the winner of the first eliminator in the second eliminator. In the final, the victor of the second eliminator will meet the winner of the qualification.

If a match is deadlocked in the play-offs, the winner will be decided by a super over. If the super over is likewise tied, the victor will be determined by the team that finished higher in the group stage.

We will keep our PSL Points Table page up to date, so keep on visiting this page for more!

If you want to see who’s playing next, have a look at our PSL Points Table page.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.