Cricket Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

492 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sehwag is Wisden's Leading Cricketer
Indian opener Virender Sehwag became 'Wisden Cricketer of the Year' for the second time in a row, beating off competition from Andrew Strauss and Tillakaratne Dilshan.
The award, which was instituted in 2004, has Australian captain Ricky Ponting, spin wizard Shane Warne and talismanic English all-rounder Andrew Flintoff among its past winners.
"In 2009 Sehwag broke Test cricket’s sound barrier by scoring at more than a run a ball. The choice of Leading Cricketer in the World is guided by statistics rather than governed by them; it is based as much on a player’s class as on form shown in all cricket during the previous calendar year," a Wisden Cricketers' Almanack press release said.
The 31-year-old Indian was picked for the honour for a second successive year.
Sehwag apart, English wicketkeeper Matt Prior, spinner Graeme Swann, Graham Onions, pacer Stuart Broad and Australian vice-captain Michael Clarke were the 'Five Cricketers of the Year' chosen by the magazine.
Sehwag averaged 70, with a strike-rate of 108.9, in the Tests he played last year. In one-day internationals, Sehwag had a strike-rate of 136.5 while averaging 45.
Strauss and Dilshan were also nominated by several correspondents who were consulted about this award but fell short of Sehwag.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.