Cricket Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

· Premium Member
896 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
- Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik is among four new cricketers to join the official Indian Premier League (IPL), officials said on Thursday.

New Zealand wicketkeeper-batsman Brendon McCullum, Pakistani fast bowler Mohammad Asif and batsman Younis Khan are others to sign for the Twenty20 league, to be organised by the Indian cricket board next year.

"Malik, Khan, Asif and McCullum signed up with the IPL, taking the number of international cricketers to 29," Board of Control for Cricket in India vice-president Lalit Modi said.

South African all-rounder Shaun Pollock, New Zealand paceman Jacob Oram and Pakistani fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar have also agreed to play in the league recently.

The IPL league in April offers three-million dollars in prize money and will have eight teams to be bought by franchisees.

The top two sides will qualify for the international Champions Twenty20 League to be played at an as yet undecided venue in October next year.

Teams can include up to four internationals besides domestic players and local youngsters.

Among the players named earlier were retired Australian greats Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath and current Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene and opening batsman Sanath Jayasuriya.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.