Cricket Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Shaun Tait's confusing few weeks has continued with his selection in the Australia A side to take on Pakistan A in Queensland in June and July. Less than three weeks after losing his Cricket Australia contract, Tait was chosen for the limited-overs portion of the series in a squad that will be captained by Cameron White.

Bryce McGain's quick slide following his Test debut continued as the selectors turned instead to White and two other slow bowlers. Jason Krejza had fallen off the radar after his two Test appearances but is back in the mix alongside the young Victoria left-arm spinner Jon Holland.

There has also been a shift in the wicketkeeping ranks with Tasmania's Tim Paine chosen ahead of Luke Ronchi. It is less than five months since Ronchi played for Australia, yet he has now disappeared below Paine and the Ashes-bound Graham Manou as the backup glovemen to Brad Haddin.

The series begins with two four-day matches in Townsville before heading to Brisbane's Allan Border Field for a Twenty20 and three one-dayers. Tait, Moises Henriques and David Warner have been included only for the shorter games while Ryan Broad, Michael Klinger and Burt Cockley have been picked as specialists in the longer version.

The pace attack for the four-day matches will be made up of the emerging Cockley and Clint McKay, alongside the established Doug Bollinger and Brett Geeves. The vice-captain Adam Voges, 29, is the oldest member of the group and the chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said it was a deliberate decision to choose a youthful squad with the one-day focus already on the 2011 World Cup.

"The National Selection Panel has, with view to the future of Australian cricket, selected a very young squad to play both the four-day and one-day games," Hilditch said. "The selection recognises the performances of these young talented players in the domestic season last year whilst concentrating on those players we have identified as having the ability to play a significant role in the development of Australian cricket in the future."

Australia A squad Cameron White (capt), Adam Voges, George Bailey, Doug Bollinger, Ryan Broad, Burt Cockley, Callum Ferguson, Brett Geeves, Moises Henriques, Jon Holland, Michael Klinger, Jason Krejza, Shaun Marsh, Clint McKay, Tim Paine, Shaun Tait, David Warner.

1 - 1 of 1 Posts