Cricket Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

492 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
TN enter Vijay Hazare final
Defending champions Tamil Nadu beat Madhya Pradesh by 134 runs to storm into the final of Vijay Hazare Trophy.
Opting to bat first, Tamil Nadu piled up a huge 348 for five, thanks to Abhinav Mukund's 137-ball 130 during which he struck 12 fours and a six at the Madhavrao Scindia ground.
Pacer Rajagopal Sathish then scalped four wickets for 16 runs as Madhya Pradesh were bundled out for 214 in 43.1 overs.
In the final, Tamil Nadu now play Bengal, who defeated Karnataka by four wickets at Vadodara.
Mukund and Srikkanth Anirudha (76) gave Tamil Nadu a solid foundation with a 177-run opening partnership, before the latter was removed by Ankit Sharma in 32nd over.
S Badrinath (58 off 40) then joined skipper and the duo added 99 runs to the board.
Mukund took 107 balls to reach three-digit mark, while Badrinath completed his fifty off just 36 balls with the help of six fours and one six.
The duo, however, departed in quick succession.
R Satish (39 off 17) and K Vasudevadas (30 off 17) then played the cameo to help Tamil Nadu cross 300-run mark.
For Madhya Pradesh, Amarjeet Singh (3/60) was the most successful bowler.
Chasing the huge total, Madhya Pradesh lost opener Jalaj Saxena (3) cheaply.
Lakshmipathy Balaji gave the first break, following which Yo Mahesh (3/49) and Satish made batsmen's life miserable.
Anand Singh (43), Monish Mishra (41) and Naman Ojha (31) were the main contributors for Madhya Pradesh.
Brief Score:
Tamil Nadu: 348/5 in 50 overs (A Mukund 130, S Anirudha 76, S Badrinath 58; Amarjeet Singh 3/60).
Madhya Pradesh: 214 (Anand Singh 43, M Mishra 41, N Ojha 31; R Satish 4/16, Y Mahesh 3/49).
Tiwary puts Bengal to Vijay Hazare final
Manoj Tiwary struck an unbeaten 61 and produced a 74-run partnership with Wriddhiman Saha to help Bengal beat Karnataka by four wickets and enter final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy cricket championship.
Electing to field in the semifinals, Bengal first restricted Karnataka at 230 for nine in the stipulated 50 overs and then came back strongly to overhaul the target with one over to spare.
Chasing 231 to win, Bengal was given a blistering start by opener Arindam Das (59 off 62 balls) and SP Goswami (45 off 59 balls), who stitched together 111 runs in 19 overs.
Karnataka's Udit Patel tried to stop the run flow, removing both the openers and reducing the rivals to 116 for 20.5 overs.
However, first down Tiwary soon took control of the match and even through he kept losing wickets at the other end, he in company of Wriddhiman Saha (36 off 101 balls) helped Bengal surpass the target in the 49th over.
Earlier, AB Dinda (2/50), LR Shukla (2/52) and SL Pakre (2/34) helped Bengal restrict Karnataka at 230 for nine.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.