Cricket Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

492 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Vijay Hazare- Brief updates
Here is a brief update of some Vijay Hazare Trophy matches played across India on Sunday.
Bengal vs Assam
Riding on a breezy 114-ball 133 by opener Shreevats Goswami, Bengal defeated Assam by seven wickets in a Vijay Hazare East Zone one-day match at Ravenshaw College Ground.

Former India captain Sourav Ganguly (64 off 63) and Abhishek Jhunjhunwala (83n.o.) also chipped in with crucial contribution as Goswami found two able allies in the middle.

After Assam piled up 299 for five in stipulated 50 overs, courtesy Dheeraj Jadhav's unbeaten 148 and Parvez Aziz (83), Bengal overhauled the competitive target with 7.3 overs to spare.

Earlier, Bengal put Assam in to bat but were hammered by the opening pair of Jadhav and Aziz who scored 176 runs in 32.4 overs.

Jadhav's 148 included 15 hits to the fence during his 150-ball stay, while Aziz hit eight boundaries and one six.

For Bengal, paceman Ashok Dinda bagged three wickets for 57 runs, while Sayan Mondal took one.

Orissa vs Jharkhand

A sparkling century by Rashmi Ranjan Das (104) and a responsible 88 by skipper Haladhar Das gave Orissa an 11-run victory over Jharkhand in East Zone one-day Vijay Hazare trophy championship.

The hosts had to toil after scoring 278 as Jharkhand fought valiantly with I R Jaggi hitting a dazzling 109. But Jharkhand could only score 267 for eight off stipulated 50 overs.

Put in to bat, Orissa had a sluggish start with openers B S Pati and Natraj Behera bowled out by V R Aaron for paltry six and 14 runs respectively.

The hosts gained momentum only after captain and wicket keeper Haladhar Das came to the crease. He scored 88 off 98 balls with seven fours and three sixes.

Adding further pace to run rate was Rashmi Das who hammered 104 off 81 balls hitting 15 fours and two sixes.

Orissa were all out for 278 in 49.4 overs.

Jharkhand's V R Aaron displayed impressive bowling capturing five wickets and conceding 54 runs.

It was a dismal start by Jharkhand as opener Siddhartha Sinha was bowled by medium pacer Debasis Mohanty without scoring.

But the middle order fought back as I R Jaggi hit 109 off 111 balls with nine hits to the boundary and a six.

With today's victory, Orissa are now on four points as they had earlier won a match against Tripura.
Karnataka vs Tamil Nadu
Tamil Nadu made sure of regaining the K S Subbiah Pillai Trophy as they beat defending champions Karnataka in a pulsating fourth and penultimate round robin match.

Both, however, qualify for the All India knock-out tournament for the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Put in to bat, Tamil Nadu scored 316 in 50 overs.

The visitors after cruising along towards victory thanks to a 104-ball 117 (12x4, 2x6) by Robin Upthappa and Manish Pandey's 56-ball 57 (6x4, 1x6) lost four wickets for 19 runs in 4.7 overs to end up at 314 for 9 in 50 overs.

In the other two inconsequential matches, Goa and Kerala scored their second wins in four matches each, defeating Hyderabad and Andhra Pradesh respectively.

With the last round robin match to be held on Tuesday after a day's rest tomorrow, Tamil Nadu have tallied 19 points from four matches, while Karnataka (placed second) have 15 points.

The top two finishers in six-team South Zone competition will progress to the All India Knock-out tournament.

After Tamil Nadu opener, Anirudha Srikkanth was run out for 43 (35 balls, 7x4), the other opener Abhinav Mukund (89) and K Shrivasudeva Das (65) put on 70 runs for the third wicket.

Useful contributions from the other batsmen saw the hosts posting 316 for 8 in 50 overs. For Karnataka, spinners KP Appanna (2/53) and Udit Patel (2/47) were the main wicket takers.

In reply, Karnataka lost Rosen Jomnagthan in the fifth ball of the first over and then Uthappa and Ganesh Satish (27) added 74 runs for the second wicket.

Uthappa and Pandey helped Karnataka recover but Pandey too made his exit edging to wicket keeper Gopinath off medium pacer C Ganapathy for 57. Their stand yielded 130 runs in 17 overs for the third wicket.

Brief Scores: Hyderabad: 310 for 7 in 50 overs (Akshath Reddy 121, A T Rayudu 76, Neeraj Bist 63; Saurabh Bhandekar 3 for 45) lost to Goa 311 for 8 in 48.5 overs (S Sriram 48, S Bandekar 27, Shadab Jakati not out 25; Amol Shindey 3/55, Kanish Naidu 2/56).

Points: Goa 4 and Hyderabad zero.

Tamil Nadu 316 for 8 in 50 overs (S Anirudha 43, Abhinav Mukund 89, K B Arun Karthick 27, K Shrivasudevadas 65; K P Appanna 2/53, Udit Patel 2/47) bt Karnataka 314 for 9 in 50 Overs (Robin Uthappa 117, Ganesh Satish 27, Manish Pandey 57, Rajoo Bhatkal 35 not out, R Vinaykumar 26; R Suthesh 3/51, V Yo Mahesh 2/58, R Ashwin 2/81).

Points: Tamil Nadu 4 and Karnataka zero.

Andhra Pradesh: 269 for 7 in 50 overs (Y Venugopal Rao 113, V Manoj Sai 44, Y Gnaneswara Rao 67; Prashanth Parameshwaran 3/46) lost to Kerala 271 for 4 in 47.4 overs (Abhishek Hegde 42, V A Jagadeesh not out 105, Robert Fernandez 62, P Prashanth not out 41).

Points: Kerala 4 and Andhra zero.
Punjab vs Jammu and Kashmir
Opener Karan Goel (100) cracked a brilliant century, while Uday Kaul (57) hit a fluent fifty as Punjab humbled Jammu and Kashmir by eight wickets in the Vijay Hazare Trophy North Zone match.

Electing to field, Punjab first shot out Jammu and Kashmir for a paltry 170 in 46.2 overs and then overhauled the target in 33.5 overs.

Chasing 171 to win, Punjab lost opener Ravi Inder Singh (1) in the second over but Karan and Uday stabled the innings and stitched together a match-winning 136-run partnership for the first wicket before being dismissed by Manik Gupta.

However, Karan continued the good work and guided his team home with 97 balls remaining.

Karan's 111-ball innings was studded with 12 fours, while Uday hit only three boundaries in his 78-ball innings.

Earlier, Parvez Rassol stood tall with a 133-ball 81 but Jammu and Kashmir could manage only 170 as they kept losing wickets frequently.

Rassol hit eight fours in his innings and if it wasn't for him, things would have become more embarrassing for Jammu and Kashmir.

Manpreet Gony and Jaskaran Singh scalped three wickets each, while left-arm spinner Bipul Sharma took two to decimate their opponents at the Tata Energy Research Institute Oval in Gurgaon.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.